Lower Fort Garry Ghost Investigation
June 3 @ 7:00 pm – 10:00 pm
Lower Fort Garry was built in 1830 by the Hudson’s Bay Company on the western bank of the Red River. The first buildings constructed at the fort in 1830 were the “fur loft”, which housed the company store, small warehouse and trader’s office, and the “Big House” which was the residence for the governor of the Hudson Bay Company(HBC) or other high-ranking officials. Later additions included a warehouse (which also acted as the first prison and asylum in Manitoba) and a men’s house. The fort’s signature walls were completed in the 1840s, adding an icehouse, powder magazine, bakehouse, and warehouse bastions. Although this fort did trade a small amount of furs, its main purpose was as a supply depot for the Red River settlement and the surrounding Cree, Anishinaabe, Métis, and European (mostly Orkney Scot) populations. Source: Wikipedia
Tour Experience: During this three hour tour, explore three buildings the dark and become part of the experience by trying equipments and participating in an actual investigation. Listen to one of the best story tellers in Winnipeg while she reveals sad and tragic tales of those who may still be dwelling here and why. Communicate with spirits using dowsing rods, K2 meters, pendulums, table tipping and more. Tours run once a month from June – October.